Read this first: This is my first review, so I thought it necessary to explain how things will work.. I buy these products with my own money. I don’t gain anything from this. I will rate products based on how I believe they should work. I will give up to 10 points. 10 = If you haven’t bought this, you effing should.. 1 = Stay far far far away and never look back.

When I was roaming through WalMart a couple of weeks ago, I stumbled across a small display for a new nail polish by Maybelline. “Color Show Nail Lacquer”. It was a very small display in a poorly lit area, not even close to the nail section of the beauty department. It was unorganized and messy, nail polishes all mixed together in no particular order. But, being the cheapskate that I am, the price was low, so I decided to take a closer look.

They had all sorts of colors, in four categories.. Lacquer, Metallics, Denim, and Shredded. I wasn’t at all interested in the Shredded, as it’s just another version of crackle polish, and I’m just not a fan of that look. Denim didn’t interest me much either, but mostly because out of the two color options in that category, I have two at home that are very similar. Metallics are always a good option, but they only had  a color called Bold Gold in stock at the time, and gold isn’t the best color on my skin. I decided to stick with the simple Lacquer and picked two colors. A bold red named Paint the Town, and a sparkly silver called Pedal to the Metal. For a silver, you would totally expect that to be in the Metallics category, but as soon as I applied it, I found out why it wasn’t. More on that later.

Paint the Town
[Two coats, no top or base coat]
The first one I tried was Paint the Town. In the bottle and in natural light, it looks more like a blood red than anything. As soon as I applied it, I noticed that the polish is a bit lighter when you put it on. It has a nice texture.. very smooth with a nice thickness. Not too thick, but not so thin it’s transparent. It does take more than one coat.. 2 coats for daily wear, but I would do 3 coats if you want it to last for awhile. It does feel like it dries fast, but don’t let that fool you. Wait at least 15 minutes between coats, or it will all peel off in one sheet. You’ll want to use a base coat, or it will stain your nails. (They do offer a clear lacquer that would work, but really, any clear polish will work just fine.) A top coat isn’t completely necessary unless you want it to last for awhile. It’s a very shiny polish, with enough gloss on it’s own. It stays on for quite awhile.. I went two full days without any sign of chipping, and that was without a top coat. The color lasted about a week and I only had to touch up one nail, one time. I give it 7/10.

Pedal to the Metal
[Two coats, no top or base coat]
Next I tried Pedal to the Metal.. In the bottle it looks like a gloriously metallic silver with tiny specks of silver shimmer. It looks great in every light I put it under. When I applied, I noticed that it’s very sheer. The first coat was almost non-existent aside from some shimmer. It, too, felt dry very quickly, but the same story here, don’t let it fool you. Wait a bit and it will look better and last longer. The second coat was still pretty sheer.. I could see the color difference between the free edge and nail bed, but as soon as I put on that third coat it was solid and beautiful. If you use a base coat of white, it will look brighter, and if you use a base of black, it’s a bit more gunmetal. You could easily use this as a layering polish. A thin coat over you favorite bright color and it will add a bit of sparkle. A top coat isn’t necessary, as this has plenty of gloss, but I do recommend it because it does chip fairly easily. All in all, I fell in love with this color. I give it 8/10.

I plan on getting a few more colors in the future, and I think you should try it, too.. Walmart is out of stock online, but if you’re lucky, you can find it in stores in limited supply. I found it for $2.97 a bottle for almost a quarter of an ounce of product.

~Beth Amphetamine.
XXX